Links, pranks, and beautiful weather

It’s amazing how a change in the weather can cause such a shift in mood. I don’t think anyone demonstrates this better than college students.

It’s been absolutely beautiful here for the last week, and everyone has been outside, having barbeques, playing beach volleyball, and…getting up to no good. Relatively speaking. There has been an upswing in pranking lately, which certainly wasn’t helped by St. Patrick’s day. Which, all things considered, was actually pretty tame. Especially in comparison to this Ontario college. (My brother actually goes to Fanshawe, but he was nowhere near the riot, thank goodness).

We (staff) aren’t immune to the good weather either. Last week my fellow RA and I pranked our bosses office, by turning everything moveable upside-down. It’s the best prank because its easy to do and is minimally inconvenient. I went in there yesterday, and his coffee cup, binders, and some posters were still upside down.

This post on the importance of emergency evacuation drill on the fictional campaign site of Parks and Recreation character Leslie Knope, made me laugh out loud:  “The official Pawnee City Mandate for disaster evacuations reads, simply, “Run, dummies.””

I’m currently writing a public education program on terrorism, and I came across this article about terrorism not being the number 1 issue. It brings up the question: should emergency management efforts focus on the most prevalent hazards (in Canada: flooding and forest fires) or what the public thinks are the most prevalent hazards?

Decades of research show that individuals almost always perform better than groups in both quality and quantity, and group performance gets worse as group size increases.” I have at least 5 different groups for various projects this year, and while I think group work can be beneficial (if incredibly aggravating) at times, I also love this article from one of my favourite columns, Bullish: Team Work is Overrated (How To Be A Lone Unicorn).

I took a course on Politics in Northern Ireland while I was studying in the UK, and Belfast was one of my favourite places to visit while travelling. While researching the 1998 Omagh bombing for a disaster recovery project, I found this article on how a trauma centre established after the bomb have been able help other victims of tragic events around the globe.

Leave a Reply

