Link Roundup

I’m visiting my grandparents in Florida for the week, and in an attempt to relax, I’ve been reading more than writing. Here are some of the interesting things I’ve found:

Article about a 17 year old in Massachusets who started a Facebook page after a tornado hit her town and completely changed how the town responded to the recovery

A bit late, but this writer suggested tracking Twitter hashtags during the Superbowl to see how quickly information would move during a crisis event.

I read this post on Spirituality in Preparedness on this EM blog and have found myself thinking about it quite a lot over the past couple of days. While attending mass with them yesterday, I found myself wondering if the church had a disaster plan–or how many of the congregation had emergency kits. The author also tells the background of the Maltese Cross, a crest seen on most firefighters.

I’m currently obsessed with Adulting, a blog about becoming a grown-up in 387 easy(ish) steps, so obviously I was thrilled when I came across this post about having an emergency kit for your house

This would be a great bulletin board idea.

One of my coworkers has been printing these out, because almost every one of them is true: You Know You’re An RA When…

I love this PDF guide to turning your RA skills into resume-friendly skills. “Stayed up until 4am breaking up a fight between two drunk girls and a parrot” gets turned into: “Maintained flexible hours while using conflict resolution and crisis management skills to mediate tense situations.”

Leave a Reply

